Basic Aspergers for you Dummies

Standard
Basic Aspergers for you Dummies

We all know that our Aspie’s (or the High Functioning Autistic children now as they are called) hyper focus on certain things in their “world”.  It becomes their obsession… Since my son was 18 months old it has been Mario Brothers for him.. He has self-taught himself how to play the games, now he YouTube’s the games and teaches himself how to play.  Most of the time he has taught himself how to play the new games through video’s and when the game comes out he is almost bored with the game after a week… Hence why we love GameFly…

Here is why I give you all this background… Every evaluation we go to they ask me the same question: Is there any one topic he seems to fixated about and loves to learn about? —  My answer is always “Educationally NO, but he is super fixated on video games, especially Mario.  He loves to learn about games new and old.  How to level up, new gear coming out, how the amiibo works, and just anything Wii related.”

It is INTENSE when he is talking about Mario… If he is talking about Mario and he thinks you aren’t listening he will say “Mommy are you listening to me!” over and over until he is acknowledged… He gets absolutely giddy over it.. It’s hard to explain but if you have an Aspie you know what I am talking about… 🙂

But what makes me so CRAZY is every time I say this, they look at me and say “oh no I mean like Dinosaurs or Space”.  I always shoot them a look like “Wait who the freakity freak are you to tell me what my sons obsession should be? So to be an Aspie it has to be Dino’s or Space? Educational only? ummmm last I checked these kids have different personalities and different interest… So are ‘normal’ children only allowed to like video’s games and non-educational stuff?”

My question is WHO THE HECK TAUGHT THESE PPL!  I know my son isn’t the only gaming Aspie out there because I have a good friend whose son is equally obsessed… so I told my husband that next time a teacher or Dr. tries to dismiss this I am gonna have to do some serious educating… I am gonna offer “Basic Aspergers for You Dummies”…  I am going to have to start asking for creditials if this keeps up.. Make sure they aren’t coming out of a Cracker Jack Box… yummm Cracker Jacks.. Oops sorry, I’m back.. lol

But is it me or do these people really think that we as parents are this slow.  That we aren’t paying attention to the stupidity that comes out of their mouths sometimes.  Whether be a Dr. discussing a treatment plan or a Teacher at an IEP meeting.  I want to look at them and say, you know how do you think we got to this point? It wasn’t because Mama was slow on the uptake people.  Someone had to get him here.  Are you feeling me?

Please guys I am always looking to hear from you guys and what you are hearing from the “experts” on your children… I know I am not the only one around here thinking they need to slap somebody sometimes…

note: please know I am not saying that obsessions about dinosaurs or space aren’t acceptable, but that drs have to be open to other non-educational type of obsessions sometimes.

About mommieflipped

I have been a Stay-at-Home Mom for 5 years. It has been the joy of my life but definitely hasn't been a bed of roses. I have a beautiful 10 year old daughter whom I adopted last year. (YAY!) She has been my daughter since the day I met her about 6 years ago when her father and I started dating. She smiles even when she isn't sure why she should be smiling. She has faced enormous difficulties in life being a survivor of rape. I am just so happy to her forever mommy words fail to express that right now. My husband and I have one biological child together. My son is 4 years old and he is High Functioning Autistic (formerly known as Aspergers). They also suspect he has Sensory Processing Disorder. I highly recommend you check out SPD before allowing a doctor to diagnosis your child as ADD/ADHD. They instantly wanted to label my son as ADHD. I started to research and found that SPD is often overlooked and children are diagnosed as ADHD just because doctors aren't as familiar with this disorder. Anyways I have loved being a mom to him. His need to be literal keeps me laughing, his sensory needs keep me on my "A-Game", and his quirks make him remarkably unique. What is better than having children who break the mold! I spend a lot of time researching and trying to figure this out. I do not believe in a cure for Autism as a necessity. I believe that we just need to find that key that unlocks them to the world. Maybe if we stop trying to make them societies idea of socially acceptable then we might just find that key. I am not a writer, I am a Mom who is using this as my outlet to reach others who have similar situations. So no need to send me messages that say "Hey you know you use a lot of run on sentences" and "your spelling sucks".. I already know these things. However please feel free to drop me a message anytime to talk about what our children have in common or to just ask questions. So thank you for reading my blog.

4 responses »

  1. My son is exactly the same way! He is 8 and has been obcessed with video games since 4 years old. He I also obcessed with music, playing, listening, music history. He especially loves the Beatles and Buddy Holly. He plays drums and guitar and is begging me for a piano and lessons!
    He is being professionally tested for HFA on July 27. He has 2 therapist who believe he is an Aspie, but his neurologist does not believe it. It is very FRUSTRATING! He has diagnosed him with, ADHD, OCD, Tourette’s,anxiety and ODD. These are all symptoms of Asperger’s. He has never given the child any therapy so he really only knows 1/2 of who he is. I am so annoyed. Hopefully in 3 weeks I will finally get the proper Dx. Now for the iep… Ugh. That is a whole other issue, trying to convince them. I am tired of being the warrior.
    Great website👍

    Sincerely,
    Shannon-
    Aspie Mom

    Liked by 1 person

    • Also, he obcessively watch you-tube videos on people playing video games. He too self-taught himself how to play the games and find the cheats by watching these videos. And just like yours, he always has to make sure you are listening to him when he talks about them. Heaven forbid you not respond or give your full attention!!
      Just wanted to add that, he’s very much like yours it seems.

      Like

    • I totally understand… Sometimes I feel like I spend more time fighting then enjoying being mom… I know it will be worth it in the end, but I wish these ‘experts’ would get it together so I could enjoy my son now! 😉

      Like

Leave a comment